top of page

SHYGA! The Sunlight Mound: A Psychedelic Experience

Album: SHYGA! The Sunlight Mound

Artist: Psychedelic Porn Crumpets

Sub-Genres: #PsychRock #ProgRock

Label: What Reality? Records

Non-Airable Tracks: Sawtooth Monkfish, Hats off to the Green Bins

Description: After two years of not releasing an album, Psychedelic Porn Crumpets crashed back into the psych rock scene with their newest album, SHYGA! The Sunlight Mound. Starting off with a bang with “Big Dijon,” they manage to create a level of chaotic energy that is maintained throughout the entire album, a truly astonishing feat. One cannot simply listen to this album sitting down, you have no choice but to get up and move, whether that be going on a run or single handedly stopping all crime in your city. Imagine drinking a couple Bang energy drinks and pulling an all nighter to impulsively drive across the country, just because you can. That is the level of chaotic energy PPC puts into every song.

For those who already enjoy psychedelic rock, Psychedelic Porn Crumpets use many of the same techniques as King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard to create depth in their songs, so every time you listen there will always be a new part to hone in on. For example, “Pukebox” has many different guitar lines weaved into the song that flow with the crunchy, powerful vocals by Jack McEwan to create a song like a seven layer dip, a new flavor and sound with every bite.

Many songs on this album are overwhelmingly loud in the best way possible, as the amount of slow songs on this album are slim to none. Nonetheless, the sheer volume of songs such as “The Terrors” and “Mr. Prism” resemble the intensity of other artists such as FIDLAR and sometimes even Cage the Elephant. If you love 70’s rock, intense but complex background noise, and wish you could listen to music that sounded like it came from a robot that had an ego death, this album is definitely for you.

Sounds Like:

  1. King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard


  3. Cage the Elephant

  4. Ty Segall

Recommended Tracks:

  1. ​Mr. Prism

  2. Glitter Bug

  3. Tripolasaur

Reviewer’s Name: milktoastgirl (Sophie Louis)

Date of Review: 3/10/2021

27 views0 comments


bottom of page